Good Talks: Andres Garzon

GOOD TALKS: Andres Garzon
January 31, 6-8pm
Good Sport, 256 Richmond St
PWYC/suggested donation $5

Andres Garzon is a London, Ontario based artist and illustrator. His handcrafted, colourful and impactful work explores themes of identity, personal growth, and advocacy. Through his practice, Andres consistently highlights the endless benefits of sharing our personal struggles as both creative people and human beings.
andresgarzon.ca

Good Talks is a monthly series of artist talks where emerging artists with connections to London discuss their careers. We would like to acknowledge funding support from the Ontario Arts Council, an agency of the Government of Ontario.

Do-Over

Do-Over
January 10-25, 2020
Opening reception January 10, 7-9 pm
 
“Do-Over” is a multi-disciplinary exhibition that brings together video, performance, and interdisciplinary artists working with notions of appropriation, citational practices, re-performance, and derivatives. International in scope, the selected participants approach art histories, popular culture, and new forms of media with pointed criticism, humour, and borderline obsession. The works engage with the many ways artists transform past and present archives, addressing power inequalities through incisive aesthetic gestures. The artists featured include Allana Clarke, Carrie Fonder, Steve Giasson, Myriam Jacob-Allard, Julie Lequin, Kelly Lloyd, and Nathaniel Wong.
 
Exhibition organized by Chalet Comellas Baker, Arièle Dionne-Krosnick, Didier Morelli, and Clinton Sleeper.
 
Image: Detail of Loop 1 and Kelly Lloyd
Carrie Fonder, “OUH HUO”, 2017
Kelly Loyd, “In 1945 newman had not yet found himself”, 2013

Good Talks

GOOD TALKS: A monthly series 

We have invited twelve emerging artists with connections to London to present artist talks and share their careers with the London art community! Keep an eye out for upcoming dates. 

Artist lineup:
Heather E Carey @heathecares / heatherecarey.com
Taylor Doyle @taydoyles / taylordoyle.com
Hannan Fayad @hannan.fayad.glass / hannanfayad.com
Andres Garzon @studioandresgarzon / andresgarzon.ca
Nico Lavender @nicolavender
Zane Pate @zapsale
Joanna Skiba @joskiba / joannaskiba.com
Daumante Stirbyte @daumaceramics / daumaceramics.com
Shannon Taylor-Jones @staylorjonesart / shannontaylorjones.com
Brianna Toswill @penrosepress / penrosepress.ca
Nico Williams @odehmin / nicowilliams.com
Joy Wong @buomhof / buomhof.com

All events are pay what you can. We would like to acknowledge funding support from the Ontario Arts Council, an agency of the Government of Ontario.